Saturday, January 3, 2009

IGP separates Orangi Town from North Nazimabad

Orangi and North Nazimabad Towns have been separated on the directives of Inspector General of Police (IGP) Sindh Sallahuddin Babar Khattak on Saturday.

It is important to mention that before the tenure of former IGP Sindh Major (retd) Ziaul Hassan, the Karachi police was divided according to the 18 towns, however when Hassan was appointed, he abolished the police force of four towns, merging them with the other 15. Hassan merged Orangi Town with North Nazimabad Town, Korangi Town with Landhi Town, Baldia and SITE Towns with North Nazimabad Town and also appointed SP to SSP ranks officers in all the towns in the city.

Almost a month ago, Khattak separated Korangi Town from Landhi Town and then separate SPs were appointed there. He also separated Orangi Town from North Nazimabad Town on Saturday. Khattak has also appointed West Zone SSP Investigation Fayyaz Qureshi as an SP in Orangi Town and posted SP Khawaja Naveed to Gulberg Town. staff report